Nobel Prize in Physics won by three scientists

Nobel Prize in Physics

Image Source: Physics World

The study of quantum mechanics, the discipline that characterizes nature at the tiniest scales, has been recognized with this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics.

The honor is given to Anton Zeilinger from Austria, John Clauser from the United States, and Alain Aspect from France.

Their innovation should pave the way for a new generation of potent computers and secure communications networks.

The men will split a reward fund totaling 10 million Swedish krona (£800,000).

This year, the three laureates performed ground-breaking research employing entangled quantum states, in which two subatomic particles behave as a single entity even when separated.

Eva Olsson, a Nobel Committee for Physics member, said, “quantum information science is a vibrant and quickly evolving discipline.”

The 75-year-old Alain Aspect is a member of the École Polytechnique, Palaiseau and the University Paris-Saclay. In California, 79-year-old John Clauser is the owner of his own business. Associated with the University of Vienna is 77-year-old Anton Zeilinger.

In 2010, the identical trio of men shared the Wolf Prize.

Early in the morning, Anton Zeilinger received a call informing him that he had won. He said I’m still a little stunned, but it’s a really good shock.

Quantum mechanics describes the behavior and patterns of subatomic particles. It’s a field that first became available in the early 20th century. Additionally, the winners of the prize on Tuesday excelled in a certain field of this discipline.

It relates to a phenomenon known as “entanglement,” in which two or more quantum particles, often photons, the particles of light, can be tightly connected even when they are not physically joined when they are very far apart.

Their energy or spin may be a shared state. It was described as “spooky action at a distance” by Albert Einstein, who thought it was an odd phenomenon.

Northern Irish physicist John Stewart Bell created the theoretical foundation in the 1960s. But it was Aspect, Clauser, and Zeilinger who later carried out the experiments to demonstrate that the phenomena was real and had potential applications.

Now two entanglement research areas are getting a lot of attention. One is in quantum computers, which promise a boost in the capacity to solve challenging issues. The other is in encryption, the safe encoding of data. For example, a third party won’t be able to listen in on confidential discussions thanks to the use of entanglement.

Prof. Tim Spiller of York University in the UK commented that Tuesday’s laureates were deserving winners who had contributed to creating a promising future.

Three scientists who improved our knowledge of complex systems, particularly the Earth’s climate, shared the 2021 Physics Nobel Prize.

The Nobel committee awarded Svante Paabo of Sweden the Physiology or Medicine prize on Monday in recognition of his research on human evolution.

Past awardees of the Nobel Prize in Physics

The award was granted to Giorgio Parisi, Klaus Hasselmann, and Syukuro Manabe in 2021 for their contributions to our understanding of intricate systems like the climate of the Earth.

2020 – The award was given to Sir Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel, and Andrea Ghez for their research on the characteristics of black holes.

2019 – James Peebles, Michel Mayor, and Didier Queloz shared the award for their groundbreaking findings about the universe.

2018 saw the awarding of the prize to Donna Strickland, Arthur Ashkin, and Gerard Mourou for their contributions to laser physics.

The gravitational wave detection prize was awarded in 2017 to Rainer Weiss, Kip Thorne, and Barry Barish.

For their work on uncommon phases of matter in 2016, David Thouless, Duncan Haldane, and Michael Kosterlitz shared the honor.

The discovery that neutrinos can transition between various “flavors” earned Takaaki Kajita and Arthur McDonald the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics.


Three Scientists wins the Nobel Prize in Physics

Opinions expressed by Miami Wire contributors are their own.


iPhone factory

Protests hit Foxconn’s iPhone factory

Image Source: Bloomberg The biggest iPhone factory in the world, in  the city of Zhengzhou was hit by massive protests according to circulating videos. On videos, hundreds of workers marched,

Manchester United

Buyers pile up for Manchester United

Image Source: Bloomberg One of the best football clubs globally has possibly been put up for sale as the owners of Manchester United are deciding their next steps. In 2005,